Welcome to the Schreier group!

Electrocatalysis allows us to interconvert electrical and chemical energy. But how do these transformations take place? And how can we extend their scope away from the conversion of small inorganic molecules towards other industrially relevant transformations? To answer these questions, our group elucidates the elementary processes that take place at electrochemical interfaces. Specifically, we ask ourselves: How does an electric field drive chemical conversion? At which point in a catalytic cycle is energy transferred? And how?

Since most existing chemical processes rely on hydrocarbons as feedstocks and energy carriers, we employ our understanding of electrochemical interfaces towards developing the science for converting hydrocarbons using electrical energy. In doing so, we open new avenues for the storage of renewable electricity and enable the electrification of the chemical industry.

We keep our sight on the broader move towards sustainable and green chemical reactivity and the increasing importance of electrons as a key energy carrier. As such, we take an inherently interdisciplinary approach to our research problems


Rung is crushing it on undergraduate awards! She wins the Hilldale Fellowship and the Eleanor Firminhac Chemistry Scholarship!🎉
Congratulations, Christine, to your first publication in ACS Energy Letters about the electrochemical halogenation of ethanol and its transformation to ethylene oxide in a single electrochemical cell!🎉
We welcome Chih-Jung (CJ) Chen as a new postdoc in our group! CJ is on the left of the photograph.
Welcome Lee Fuller, Meg Kelly, and Alex Zielinski to our group! 🎉 Check out their profiles under our group page.
Christine's unique path to our group has been highlighted in a recent news article by the College of Engineering. Check it out here!
Johnson Chen has joined the Schreier Group as our first postdoc. We're excited to have you here, Johnson!
Dr. Schreier has been selected to participate in the National Academy of Engineering's 2021 US Frontiers of Engineering Symposium. Congratulations, what an honor! 🎉🎉
Taobo has been awarded the Hilldale Scholarship. Congrats, Taobo!!
Christine has received the NSF Fellowship. Congratulations, Christine! We look forward to your future work!
Congratulations to Teja for recieving the Roland A. Ragatz Undergrad Scholarship! 🎉
Congratulations to Christine for receiving the Roland A. Ragatz Discussion Award - First Place for her outstanding work as a TA! 🎉
Professor Schreier was named a Scialog Negative Emissions Science Fellow.
Professor Schreier was named the Richard H. Soit Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering.
Professor Schreier recived the EPFL ABB Award.
The College of Engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Madison published a profile about our future group.
We are online! Check out our website and join our group! Write to!
Our research group is passionate about electrons and can't wait to use their potential to drive reactions. Check them out!
Design: Jo Melville